Uncategorized

You Need The Kids Ministry More Than It Needs You!

If you attend a church, you most likely have been asked to serve in the Kids Ministry. And if you’ve been asked this question, 90% of you have had this thought “Lord help me.” Every church needs a Kids Ministry that has exciting, dynamic, energetic, funny, and reliable leaders and volunteers. Yet out of all the ministries in the church, it lacks the most in teams. I’ve asked myself WHY for years.  I’d like to share with you why your kids ministry doesn’t need you, you need the kids ministry. 


1. Kids can no longer be called the future of the church

Did this statement shock you? I know I’ve been told the opposite for as long as I can remember. But kids are not the future of the church. They cannot be looked at as the future of the church. They need to be our PRIME RESPONSIBILITY NOW! They are in the church NOW. They ARE the church NOW. What are you doing now to invest in these little lives? What are you doing now to ensure that these kids fall in love with Jesus and His word? What are you doing now to teach these kids how to have a relationship with Christ? Here are some statistics that may shock you:

  • More than half of the people who will ever accept Christ as their savior will do so by age 12.
  • Less than 6% of people receive Christ as their savior by the age of 12.
  • By the time a child is 9 years of age, their basic moral foundation has already been formed.
  • There is a 10 year window of opportunity between the ages of 4 and 14, that a person is most open to the Gospel of Jesus Christ.

A 10 year window. This is just a blink of time in our lives. What are you doing during this blink?


2. The kids may teach you more than you teach them

I’d like to take a look at Matthew 18:1-7

“..The disciples came to Jesus asking, “Who gets the highest rank in God’s kingdom?”

2-5 For an answer Jesus called over a child, whom he stood in the middle of the room, and said, “I’m telling you, once and for all, that unless you return to square one and start over like children, you’re not even going to get a look at the kingdom, let alone get in. Whoever becomes simple and elemental again, like this child, will rank high in God’s kingdom. What’s more, when you receive the childlike on my account, it’s the same as receiving me.”


One of the main reasons why I have always loved being a part of kids ministry is being able to see their faithful hearts. There is never a questions about how truly amazing and faithful Jesus is to kids. I hear countless comments of “It’s ok I know Jesus can fix this.” “Jesus will heal my mom from her illness” “I know that Jesus can help my family.”

When I was about 8 years old, I had a friend I’d always meet up with when she got home from school. One day after school we met at the top of the hill that sat in between her house and mine. She had a sad look on her face. When I asked her what was wrong, she explained to me how she had an ear ache all day and it wouldn’t go away. My immediate response was, “My God can heal you, let me pray for your ear.” I placed my hand both her ears and prayed for God to take the pain away. It was the most simple of prayers. When I took my hands off her ears she looked at me in shock. “How did you do that?” She asked. “Oh it wasn’t me!” I replied. “It was my Jesus. Isn’t he amazing?”

To this day that moment has been in the back of my mind. I haven’t had another experience like it. And why? I’ve grown older. I’ve inherited doubt in my mind. As adults we must have a child like faith just like Jesus instructed. And what better way to emulate this faith but by seeing it every week!

Not only do children have such a crazy amount of faith, but they have great discipleship. Kids invite more friends to church in a month that adults do in a year. I’ve seen this take place even in my own life. How can we as adults expect our little ones to be Jesus’s disciples if we don’t do it ourselves? Being inside the kids ministry always reminds me to constantly be inviting others to hear about Jesus and how amazing he is.


3.  Being a part of a Kids Ministry can help you understand the ins-and-outs of the Bible.

Some may think that Kids Ministries may dumb down the Bible for the kids to have it at their level. Sure we may simplify the stories and words given by God, but it’s not just for the kids. Believe it or not you may get more from the story than the kids! There have been many bible stories that I’ve had to teach to kindergarten students that I’ve had to dig deep to understand the simplest of meanings behind stories and verses. Somehow it has made the words from the Bible ‘click’ with my brain than they have before in the past.

Being a kids pastor, I have had many adults want to get involved with the Kids Ministry but had the fear that because they were a new Christian, they wouldn’t be able to know more about the Bible than the kids. To be honest, I’ve seen more little lives come to Jesus with a leader who is learning the Bible along with them. Just because you are a new Christ follower doesn’t mean you won’t have as much of an impact on a child’s life. It isn’t about knowing more, it’s about GROWING more.


4. Seeing little lives change will change your life

Short, sweet and to the point – I can’t count on my two hands how many times seeing kids give their lives to Christ, get baptized, or simply worship Jesus has affected my walk with Christ. It is so rewarding and fulfilling to see Children grow in a relationship with Christ. Seeing them want more and more of Jesus. It will make your own relationship with Christ go deeper.


If you have read this jumbled-thoughts-blog about the importance of Kids Ministry, I want to challenge you – what’s stopping you from getting in our car right now, driving to your church and begging the Kids Pastor to be involved in the Kids Ministry? I may be slightly biased, but I fully and 100% believe that the kids ministry at your church is the most important ministry of all. We want our kids to:

  1. Love attending church
  2. Begging to be at church
  3. Feel lost without having a church (especially when they graduate and leave home!)
  4. Desire a deeper relationship with God

 

So what’s stopping you?

If you currently serve in your church’s kids ministry, please share this blog and post a story or statement with it. Why do you love serving in Kids Ministry? How has it impacted your life? Like, Share & comment now!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

